Led Zeppelin – Houses Of The Holy (revisiting)

Right so hands up, this is only the third time I’ve played this record, and with big gaps between spins, I’m still in fairly unfamiliar territory. My second confession is more controversial, I’m not a great fan of Plant’s voice. It is something I have to acclimatise to each time I play a Zeppelin album. With that said and ‘The Song Remains The Same’ aside I do find his vocals easier to get along with on this record. The opener does trick you into thinking this could be another blues-rocker record.

hoth-inner-sleeve

The counterbalance of ‘The Rain Song’ makes the album for me. Piano, strings and gentle picking showing Jimmy can really display restraint over excess. If the penny hadn’t already dropped, this song lets you know for sure ‘Houses Of The Holy’ isn’t simply Led Zeppelin V. The rest of side one is bright and upbeat with great playing from all and Plant finding a new voice, tight, controlled which is just what the music demands. I’m still not a fan of the “take it to the bridge” nonsense (yes I know they are referencing James Brown) but it should have remained an in-joke. Anyway listening with fresh (non-biased) ears I’m keen to flip over for side two.

The strange guitar on the intro of ‘Dancing Days” is a puzzler. It’s been replicated on one of this great but never quite made it 90’s American College Radio bands albums, I’m going to name Sloan but I could be wrong. The cod reggae of ‘D’yer Mak’er’ potentially could leave you cold but actually, the track is great fun and very enjoyable. It’s saving grace being that it is a band trying something new and getting a groove on. It works.

‘No Quarter’ like ‘Rain Song’ pulls on the reins, gives balance and a hint of the band you know in a reflective mood. Which leaves space for an upbeat rocker to finish.
When I bought this deluxe reissue I thought I’d gone an album too far. I discovered and developed a love for the bands’ debut in my late teens. Thought the second one to be too much on the rock side of blues-rock, and outright disliked the thud of the likes of ‘Black Dog’. I may have played at the wrong, or not been open enough to take it in. Whatever it was I’m glad I’ve revisited and can’t believe I’ve played it three times in one day.

 

led-zeppelin-houses-of-the-holy-15-ab
Houses Of The Holy feels is a Zeppelin record you could drop on anytime, whereas I need to be in really in the mood for others of theirs. It also feels like a band album, with every player finding their space but not overplaying. For me,it’s John Paul Jones playing that provided the basis for the experimentation. He brings the funk.

2 thoughts on “Led Zeppelin – Houses Of The Holy (revisiting)”

Leave a comment